Demi Lovato’s Bliss Magazine Interview

7 02 2012

Demi Lovato Opens Up about Eating Disorder

Demi Lovato’s eating disorder made her “very manipulative”.

The 19-year-old singer-and-actress – who entered rehab in late 2010 to seek help for her problems -spent two years prior to her hospitalization doing whatever she could to avoid people finding out there was anything wrong.

She said: “I was a very manipulative person when it came to my eating disorder. You name it, I did it.

“I would lie about already eating. I would lie about having to go to the bathroom. I would go to any lengths to make sure I was sick.”

The former ‘Sonny with a Chance’ star admits her problems with food go back to a very young age.

She explained: “I began compulsive eating at the age of eight. Then, when I started being bullied at 12, I stopped eating. I went from overeating to undereating to throwing up.”

At the height of her success, the ‘Camp Rock’ star admits she could barely bring herself to look at pictures of herself in magazines because she was so uncomfortable with her appearance.

She told Britain’s Glamour magazine: “It never really went away. I’d try, but the impulses would come back. You feel like you’re on a downward spiral, but you have to fight through it.

“I had real difficulty with my body image. It was hard to look at myself in magazines. My friends would say, ‘Wow you look so gorgeous.’ Everyone else was looking at what they thought as a beautiful girl, but I just couldn’t see that when I looked at myself.”

Demi Lovato says “School Was Tough”

Demi Lovato says school was much “harder” on her than the entertainment industry.

The singer-and-actress was bullied when she was younger, with things getting so bad she was eventually removed from mainstream education and taught at home.

In 2010 she went to rehab, and has spoken openly about her struggle with eating disorders and self-harm. Demi knows many think her problem stem from her career starting with Disney at a young age, but she insists that isn’t the case.

“I’m 100% grateful for the roles I’ve been given, and I’ve had really supportive people around me. People say the entertainment industry is tough, but school was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to go through,” the 19-year-old told Glamour magazine.

Talking about the bullying she went through is still difficult for the teenager. As she’s learnt to deal with her issues she has come to realise none of it was her fault.

“I truly don’t know why the bullies picked on me,” she said. “I was teased about my weight, called names, called fat. I was just a normal kid. It was totally out of line.”

Demi Lovato Opens Up about Body Image and TV

Demi Lovato is not confident enough to appear on TV again.

The former ‘Sonny with a Chance’ star is taking a break from acting after admitting her battles with self-harming and an eating disorder, and she doesn’t feel ready to be on camera again yet.

She told Britain’s Glamour magazine: “Right now I don’t need to get in front of a TV camera which adds 10 pounds and makes you feel more self-conscious about your body image. Being on camera makes me nervous. It takes a level of confidence and security which I’m still working on.

“When I’m ready I’ll find the right role and get back into it, but for now I’m being cautious.

“I’m walking with my head held high, but I never forget that I’m a work in progress.”

Demi was admitted to rehab for her issues in 2010, and her time in therapy was intense, with her undergoing sessions lasting for over half a day at a time.

She explained: “I had 14 hours of therapy every day, so I definitely learned a lot about myself. For the first 48 hours I wasn’t allowed any communication with my friends or family, a lot of people give up and check themselves out, but I made it and I’m proud of myself.”

Since rehab, Demi has been concentrating on her pop career, releasing her third album ‘Unbroken’ last September.

Accessories are key!

Demi Lovato enhances her outfits “with a lot of jewellery and tall shoes.”

The stunning songstress loves to don her favourite blue jeans.

However, the star spices up casual outfits with funky accessories, as she feels eclectic jewelery and fabulous footwear adds flair to her style.

“[My clothes are] a mix of rock ‘n’ roll and boho, always with a lot of jewelery and tall shoes,” Demi revealed in an interview with OK! magazine.

Demi pays attention to every detail of her ensemble. Make-up is very important to the star and she insists that her face be done a certain way.

“I feel like my makeup isn’t complete without fake lashes,” she shared.

Demi is passionate about clothes and does not rely solely on stylists to help her choose what to wear

She prefers to search boutiques herself to find gorgeous pieces for her wardrobe.

“I love to shop. Especially for shoes!” she gushed.

“I love my skinny jeans!”

Source

Actions

Information

One response

10 02 2012
Ana

♥v

Leave a Reply

