Demi Lovato & Joe Jonas: 2013 ACUVUE® 1-DAY Contest Mentors Recap

6 04 2013

2013 ACUVUE® 1-DAY Contest Mentors, Joe Jonas & Demi Lovato reflect back on their experience from last year’s contest.

ALSO,

AND, On the couch with… Demi Lovato (interview):

When former Disney darling Demi Lovato stopped by our shores for her debut 3000-strong concert in March, she shared with Benita Leeabout her experience being bullied, the pressures she faces as a role model and her hit single ‘Heart Attack’ from her upcoming album Demi.

20-year-old pop superstar Demi Lovato is all-grown up, and she’s come a long way since her sugary sweet Disney days and her first foray into the entertainment industry with Barney & Friends at the age of seven. When the Disney original movie Camp Rock premiered in the summer of 2008, Lovato rose to worldwide fame as the lead – aspiring singer Mitchie Torres – and the vocals behind the soundtrack’s catchy tunes like ‘This is Me’ and ‘We Rock’. Her debut album Don’t Forget, also released in 2008, hit the music charts hard, and her meteoric rise continued with acting projects like Disney sitcom Sonny with a Chance and Disney original movie Princess Protection Program. Outspoken about her personal struggles with bullying, eating disorders and self-mutilation issues, Lovato has been an inspiring role model to teenage girls everywhere, encouraging them to speak out and stand up for themselves. After releasing two more albums – Here We Go Again and Unbroken – and appearing as a judge on The X Factor with Simon Cowell and Britney Spears, Lovato is heading back to her roots as a musician with her upcoming fourth album, Demi, to be released in May this year. Here we reveal a few things about the pop princess.

Thoughts on her soon-to-be-released album, Demi.
“It is everything that I am and everything that I’ve already done, but just ten times better. I’m really excited about it – there are so many great pop songs, and then there are songs that get a little bit more heavy and emotional. I’m opening up and talking about things that I’ve never talked about before, so it’s a pretty big step for me. ‘Heart Attack’ was a song I recorded over the past year, and it was leaked early. None of us were expecting the success that it got so quickly, because it got no promotion, so I was really shiokabout it [laughs].”

Acting versus music.
“When it comes to people scrutinising anything I do, [I know] it’s going to happen. You’re not going to be able to please everybody. If you are pleasing everybody, something’s wrong, because it’s not really genuine. I’m doing my own thing – if people like it, great; if they don’t, great. With music, I get to create and do my own thing; with movies and TV shows (aside fromThe X Factor), I have to play someone else. And that’s something I’ve not been interested in doing lately. I like doing music and performing, and I feel like what works best for me right now is focusing on what career I want. For me, my life is pretty much about making music.”

How The X Factor has changed her life.
“It’s got me in front of so many people and showcased my personality to people who typically aren’t my demographic. [I’ve also] been able to showcase my thoughts and the knowledge I have on music, and it’s been pretty cool to open up and have people know me better. I wanted to do it because it was a great opportunity to get in front of people and also help someone achieve their dreams.”

People who keep her down-to-earth.
“In this industry, there are a lot of people who will tell you ‘yes, yes, yes’. Nobody will stand up to you if you’re doing something wrong ‘cause they’re afraid they’ll get fired. I just don’t have those people around me; I have friends that have my best interests at heart, and I spend as much time with my family as possible.”

Advice to her 15-year-old self.
“I’d be like, put your seatbelt on, ‘cause your life is about to get really crazy. But I’d also just tell her that she’s beautiful and that she doesn’t need to change for anybody, and that she’s loved.”

Her experience being bullied.
“Everybody’s dealt with their fair share of bullying, where people have been mean to them. But when I was 12 years old, it was pretty extensive, and I actually left public school to be home-schooled. And I started thinking, there’s nobody in the world that deserves to be bullied like this. Ever since then, I’ve spoken out about that issue, and people started listening.”

Pressures of being a role model.
“Before, I would say I didn’t sign up to be a role model; I’m a singer, that’s what I want to do. I was a teenager, I wanted to make mistakes, and I wanted to do my own thing. But now that I’m being honest and I’ve embarked on my own journey, I’ve learned I can help people with issues I struggled with. My music is my message and my platform – it’s not a pressure at all, and it feels really great.”

Her words to young girls.
“My inspiration has been a lot of things that I’ve gone through in the past. My family has been a big inspiration to me – my little sister, mainly. When I speak up about my eating disorders or whatever it is I’ve dealt with, I want to make sure that I set a place where young girls know they can talk about it and they don’t have to struggle with it anymore. So if you are being bullied, speak up about it; if you are witnessing someone being bullied, speak up about it. It actually doesn’t make you cool at all to bully somebody. What makes you cool is to hang out with the ones that people are making fun of and try to be friends with everybody.”

Source

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

