Demi Lovato on Kyle & Jackie O (2DayFM Australia)

8 05 2013

ALSO, Demi On Her Upcoming Album ‘DEMI,’ ‘X Factor’ Role & More:

Like many of her fellow Disney graduates, Demi Lovato has rocketed to an unimaginable level of fame. At just 20 years of age, the singer-songwriter has already starred in numerous films and series, released three albums (with another one on the way), secured a spot on the ‘X Factor’ judging panel and built a dedicated fan base.

We had plenty of questions for Demi when she visited Barbados but we were most excited to ask about her upcoming album ‘DEMI,’ which hits shelves on May 14th. “I’m looking forward to my fans getting to hear the music I’ve been working on for so long and that I’ve been so passionate about,” she told us. “It’s really great. Sometimes I just listen to the songs and I’m like … I can’t believe that nobody’s heard this and I’ve been listening to it for months so I’m exited for them to finally hear it.”

During our sit down, Demi also opened up about her favourite songs on the LP, judging ‘X Factor’ and plenty of other juicy topics.

Star Trident: Hi Demi, it’s a pleasure to meet you!

Demi Lovato: “It’s nice to meet you too.”

Star Trident: So, how are you enjoying Barbados so far?

Demi Lovato: “It’s so beautiful. I mean, I wished I lived here. It’s seriously so beautiful and everyone is just so nice and it’s just … I think it’s maybe one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been too.”

Star Trident: Your album release is just around the corner (‘DEMI’ hits shelves on May 14th), what are you looking forward to the most?

Demi Lovato: “I’m looking forward to my fans getting to hear the music I’ve been working on for so long and that I’ve been so passionate about. It’s really great. Sometimes I just listen to the songs and I’m like … I can’t believe that nobody’s heard this and I’ve been listening to it for months so I’m exited for them to finally hear it.”

Star Trident: Why did you choose to name your upcoming album ‘DEMI’ ?

Demi Lovato: “I went with ‘DEMI’ because this album best represents who I am today and I’ve never had an album 1 – as good as this one and 2 – I’ve never had an album that represented who I was as well as this one so it’s kind of a new beginning for me and I’m stepping out in front of a whole new world basically. It’s no longer the teen world – it’s mainstream and on the radio it’s more adult but not in a bad way.”

Star Trident: What’s your favourite song on the album?

Demi Lovato: “There are a couple of songs that are really emotional and very personal so I feel like I relate to those the most and I think ‘Nightingale’ and ‘Warrior’ might be my two favourites. But, the upbeat songs, I love ‘Neon Lights’ and ‘Made In The U.S.A.’”

Star Trident: What inspires you in terms of your music?

Demi Lovato: “In terms of my music I think what inspires me is obviously things that I’ve been holding in – personal experiences that I’ve been wanting to write about. Also when I listen to great music, it inspires me to want to write.”

Star Trident: Are people more into albums or singles in this industry?

Demi Lovato: “I think in the industry now people are more into singles of course. It’s much harder to sell an album than it is to buy a single now that it’s so accessible with it just being $1.99 or $0.99 rather than $12 for an entire album. The music industry has totally changed and it’s based on singles now.”

Star Trident: How does that affect longevity?

Demi Lovato: “It’s not necessarily great for longevity. I think people had longer careers back in the day because they would sell albums and were able to sell so many but now it’s like you can sell a lot of singles but it’s just a matter of choosing the right songs and being successful with your singles. You have to be able to adapt.”

Star Trident: In terms of judging ‘X Factor,’ what do you think you brought to the judging panel?

Demi Lovato: “I think what I brought to the judging panel is a fresh perspective and something that wasn’t on a bunch of the other vocal competition shows. I ask my friend’s opinions like “do you like this person?” Or “what do you like about that person?” and they give me their advice. So I brought a fresh perspective to it and a lot of sass. Laughs”

Star Trident: Why did you sign back on for another season?

Demi Lovato: “I loved it so much and I had so much fun. Plus this year is going to be so much better because I’m no longer the new kid anymore so I’m excited.”

Star Trident: How would you describe your sense of fashion?

Demi Lovato: “My fashion is sophisticated and edgy. It changes all time. Like today I’m chic but sometimes I just feel like wearing jeans and a tank top and a jacket and combat boots but it’s edgy, that’s what I go for.”

Star Trident: Is there anything that we don’t know about you?

Demi Lovato: “I don’t know … I’m a pretty open book but I love surfing. You can spend hours and hours in the ocean until you’re like a noodle basically but you just keep trying.”

Star Trident: How difficult is it maintaining success?

Demi Lovato: “Maintaining success is difficult. You can’t lose your mind. That was the hardest part for me. Nobody is ever really prepared for it and you think you know but then you get in this position and you’re like “oh my God.” It’s crazy, crazier than I even expected. And I guess the key to it is just making smart decisions, growing with your audience and staying out of tabloids as best as you can.”

Star Trident: Thanks Demi!

Demi Lovato: “Thank you very much ☺”

Source

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

