Miley Cyrus: People Have This “Misconception of Me” as a “Ratchet White Girl”

6 08 2013

Miley Cyrus has done a good job of distancing herself from her days on Disney’s Hannah Montana — maybe too good a job, in fact. Speaking about her edgy new image in an interview with Notion magazine, the 20-year-old singer says she gets a bad rap as a “ratchet white girl” and insists there’s more to her than meets the eye.

“People have this misconception of me that I’m just one of these kids on TV and that now I go off and party and I’m just this ratchet white girl, and I’m not,” she laments. “I work really, really hard, I’m just in a different environment.”

Cyrus — who has made headlines in recent months for her provocative outfits, love of twerking, and sexed-up music videos — notes that she’s just trying to figure out who she is in the context of her fame. “I’m young and living and in L.A., which is everyone’s dream, you know,” she explains. “I’m living it to the fullest.”

“Rather than taking a blessing and making it a curse, it’s just like this is what this name is now,” she continues. “But I think my name means something — it represents something more than just what the media tries to make of it.”

She doesn’t specify exactly what that something is, but it’s big. “I was thinking about dropping the Cyrus and just being Miley, but there’s something powerful about the fact that my name now is like a household name,” she tells Notion.

That said, she doesn’t want to be boxed in by what her name has represented in the past. “I think people forget what it feels like to be 20,” she said in a recent interview with the Associated Press. “People just evolve and that’s all that’s happened to me. But people think a mad scientist somehow cooked up this potion and turned me into a different human, which it wasn’t. All I did was get a haircut and buy some clothes, and everyone thinks that I am made into a robot that changes with what’s popular every 10 years.”

“I think some people kind of fall off and they end up going crazy because you don’t give yourself time to go crazy,” said the star, who appears to be back on with fiance Liam Hemsworth. “That’s what you’re supposed to do; you are 20, you are supposed to be a mess because you haven’t figured it out yet, and 10 years from now I am supposed to have it all together.”

Source

  • Miley Cyrus Defends Justin Bieber: He ‘Can Do Anything He Wants’

The pop star is going through her own transition

Miley Cyrus has defended pop’s bad boy, Justin Bieber insisting he can do “anything he wants”.

Justin has been seemingly persistent in getting into the bad books of the public, and most recently his latest outing in a New York nightclub ended in a bloody brawl.

However fellow pop star, Miley Cyrus, who has also made headlines for alleged wild antics, appears to hold a special place in her heart for the troubled teen.

“Justin started as a baby, he had a lot of success early and he’s trying to adjust,” says the former ‘Hannah Montana’ star whose empathy for the 19-year-old pop star comes as she tries to shed her own squeaky clean Disney image.

The 20-year-old singer continued: “If I was Justin Bieber I’d be walking around with my top off too. He’s looking good, he’s 19, he can have any girl he wants and can do pretty much anything he wants.”

“I think it’s important not to abuse it but everyone does dumb stuff when they get messed up.” she insisted.

Meanwhile R&B singer Ciara also stuck up for the Justin’s erratic behaviour by arguing he was suffering from a bout of “growing pains”.

She commented: “Any young boy blessed with extreme success and wealth who didn’t have that before has to adjust. Maybe it’s just growing pains.”

Justin’s crew face investigation from cops following an argument which ended in a victim being sent to hospital, after a girl tried to hit on the ‘Beauty and the Beat’ singer in his v.i.p area.

The star allegedly ripped his shirt off and “went nuts” following the incident, befor his security quickly intervened in an attempt to calm the star down.

A spokesman for Bieber later confirmed to MailOnline: ‘Justin was not involved in any altercation.’

Source

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

